Mission

The charitable purpose of the Internet Stiftung is to promote the internet in Austria and an unrestricted and orderly access to networks and services in compliance with international obligations. In particular, the Internet Stiftung is responsible for the administration of the .at domain.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors of the Internet Stiftung conducts the business of the Foundation. The Board manages and represents the foundation vis-à-vis third parties and is responsible for the attainment of the mission of the Foundation.

Andreas Koman

Andreas Koman

Chair

Andreas Schildberger

Andreas Schildberger

Vice Chair

Walter Mika

Walter Mika

Member

Anja Günther

Anja Günther

Assistant to the Board

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees performs the control of the foundation according to a supervisory board. It appoints the Board of Directors. Two members of the Board of Trustees are appointed by ISPA and one member is appointed by the University of Vienna.

Harald Kapper

Harald Kapper

Chair

Ulf Busch

Ulf Busch

Vice Chair

Natalie Ségur-Cabanac

Natalie Ségur-Cabanac

Member

Auditor

Andreas Lummerstorfer

Advisory Board for Domains

The Advisory Board for Domains advises the Board of Directors on fundamental issues concerning the allocation of internet domain names. It consists of national and international experts, as well as representatives of internet users and service providers. The members of the Advisory Board are appointed by the Board of Trustees upon proposal of the Board of Directors.

More about the Domain Advisory Board

 

Franz Schmidbauer

Franz Schmidbauer

Chair

Eric Schätzlein

Eric Schätzlein

Vice Chair

Kurt Reichinger

Kurt Reichinger

Member

Christian Singer

Christian Singer

Member

Thomas Rickert

Thomas Rickert

Member

Marcus Hofer

Marcus Hofer

Member

Christian Mock

Christian Mock

Member

History

The Internet Stiftung was established in 2000 by ISPA, the Association of Internet Service Providers Austria. It is formally a private Austrian foundation with a charitable purpose. The trigger for the establishment of the foundation was the increasing number of registrations of .at-domains. Initially, these registrations were administered by the University of Vienna. Due to the rapid increase of registrations and the effort involved, it became necessary to organize the process within the framework of a company. For this purpose, nic.at was founded by ISPA in 1998 to perform the registration of .at-domains. However, the honorary management of nic.at by the ISPA Board members also soon reached its limits. In pursuit of reliable long-term service to the Austrian internet community which required sufficient management capacities and resources, the Internet Stiftung was established. nic.at was incorporated into the Internet Stiftung as a full subsidiary. The chosen structure corresponds to that found in other EU countries (e.g., the Netherlands, Denmark, and Sweden).

Internet Stiftung

The Internet Stiftung promotes the development of the internet in Austria and an unrestricted and orderly access to networks and services in compliance with international obligations. In particular, the Internet Stiftung is responsible for the administration of the .at domain.

Auftrag

Der Auftrag der Internet Stiftung ist ein gemeinnütziger, und zwar die Förderung des Internets in Österreich und des freien und geordneten Zugangs zu dessen Netzen und Diensten unter Berücksichtigung internationaler Verpflichtungen. Insbesondere ist die Internet Stiftung für die Verwaltung der .at-Domain verantwortlich.

Stiftungsvorstand

Der Vorstand der Internet Stiftung führt die Geschäfte der Stiftung. Er verwaltet und vertritt die Stiftung nach außen und sorgt für die Erfüllung des Auftrags der Stiftung.

Andreas Koman

Andreas Koman

Vorsitzender

Andreas Schildberger

Andreas Schildberger

Stellvertrender Vorsitzender

Walter Mika

Walter Mika

Maria Anna Duda

Maria Anna Duda

Vorstandsassistenz

Stiftungsrat

Der Stiftungsrat nimmt Kontrollfunktionen im Sinne eines Aufsichtsrats wahr und bestellt den Stiftungsvorstand. Zwei Mitglieder des Stiftungsrats werden von der ISPA entsandt, ein Mitglied von der Universität Wien.

Harald Kapper

Harald Kapper

Vorsitzender

Ulf Busch

Ulf Busch

Stellvertrender Vorsitzender

Natalie Ségur-Cabanac

Natalie Ségur-Cabanac

Stiftungsprüfer

Andreas Lummerstorfer

Domainbeirat

Der Domainbeirat berät den Stiftungsvorstand bei Grundsatzfragen der Gestaltung der Internet-Domainvergabe. Er setzt sich aus nationalen und internationalen Experten sowie Vertretern der Internet-Nutzer und der Diensteanbieter zusammen. Die Mitglieder des Domainbeirats werden vom Stiftungsrat auf Vorschlag des Stiftungsvorstands bestellt.

Mehr zum Domainbeirat

Franz Schmidbauer

Franz Schmidbauer

Vorsitzender

Erich Schätzlein

Erich Schätzlein

Stellvertrender Vorsitzender

Kurt Reichinger

Kurt Reichinger

Christian Singer

Christian Singer

Thomas Rickert

Thomas Rickert

Marcus Hofer

Marcus Hofer

Christian Mock

Geschichte

Die Internet Stiftung wurde im Jahr 2000 von der ISPA, dem Verband der Internet Service Provider Austria, gegründet. Sie ist formal eine österreichische Privatstiftung mit gemeinnützigem Stiftungszweck. Auslöser für die Gründung der Stiftung war die steigende Zahl an Registrierungen von .at-Domains. Diese wurden anfangs von der Universität Wien durchgeführt. Aufgrund des rasanten Anstiegs der Registrierungen und des damit verbundenen Aufwands war es erforderlich, den Prozess im Rahmen eines Unternehmens zu organisieren. Dazu wurde von der ISPA Mitte 1998 die nic.at gegründet und die Registrierung der .at-Domains übernommen. Die Führung der nic.at durch den ehrenamtlich tätigen Vorstand der ISPA stieß aber auch an seine Grenzen. Mit dem Ziel der Sicherstellung ausreichender Managementkapazitäten und Ressourcen für eine langfristig zuverlässige Dienstleistung an die österreichische Internet Community wurde schließlich die Internet Stiftung gegründet. In diese wurde die nic.at als 100%-Tochtergesellschaft eingebracht. Die so gewählte Struktur entspricht jener in anderen EU-Ländern (z.B. Niederlande, Dänemark und Schweden).

Internet Stiftung

Die Internet Stiftung fördert die Entwicklung des Internets in Österreich und den freien und geordneten Zugang zu dessen Netzen und Diensten unter Berücksichtigung internationaler Verpflichtungen. Die Stiftung ist insbesondere für die Verwaltung der .at-Domain verantwortlich.